Posted by: soapchix | March 25, 2008

Reading is Fundamental!

As I was catching up on my favorite blogs, I realized they all had one thing in common: books! Coincidentally, each lovely lady either is in the process of writing a book, or has finished one and is publicizing it. I’ve always wanted to be a part of a literary crowd, and I think it’s so great that dynamic women are making their mark doing things they love. So, while I’m occupied by getting ready to file taxes for last year (note to self: hire a tax attorney this year) I thought I would share a few of our favorites until we Soapchix can get back to dissecting commercial bath product labels.

In no particular order:

Amanda Soule over at Soulemama has a book ““The Creative Family: How to Encourage Imagination and Nurture Family Connections” that we have on preorder and can’t wait to get soon! You can take a sneak peak on Amazon if you click through the link. Ash and I both head over to her blog when we need a minute to see ‘mama-hood’ through gentle, appreciative eyes. Her pictures, stories, and activities are so fun and tender–we can’t wait to add a little of that magic into our own homes!

Betz White has written “Warm Fuzzies: 30 Sweet Felted Projects”. Ash and I met Betz at the Country Living Show in the Chicago Botanic Gardens 2 years ago, and fell in love with her felted cupcakes & Cup ‘o Joe pincushions. I bought one for my MIL…except it never made it to her. Instead I have it on my nightstand. And no, I don’t sew…but that’s how cute these little guys are!

Little did Ash and I know that one of our favorite bloggers, SafeMama (who is trying to keep the consumer world safe for babies everywhere) also has a book out: “The IT Girl’s Guide to Blogging with Moxie”. Luckily, my order for ‘The Creative Family’ hasn’t shipped yet, so I’m able to add this valuable book onto my order AND get free shipping! So, it’s good I ordered another book because I actually saved money! Blogging is relatively new to Ash and I, so we’re looking forward to getting tips from a pro. I wonder if there’s anything Kathy doesn’t do!

Leave a Reply

Categories

