Posted by: soapchix | February 15, 2008

Ways to Avoid Phthalates

Since we have been writing about the whole phthalate problem, we have received lots of emails from concerned parents about phthalate-free products to use on their babies. It sure seems like the word is out that these dangerous chemicals can be avoided and that is good news.

But there is more good news. There are other ways to prevent exposure to phthalates and other chemicals. The Environmental Work Group provides a great newsletter that contains lots of information on how to become more “green” and how to discern what actually being “green” means. We just got a newsletter from them today with some great advice for avoiding phthalates. The article lists potential sources of the chemical and how to look for it. We have provided a portion of the article here:

Nail polish: Dibutyl phthalate is often used to make nail polish chip-resistant. Look for it on the ingredients list, where it may be shortened to DBP. Here is a list of nail polishes that do not contain Phthalates, Toluene or Formaldehyde.

Plastics in the kitchen: Take a critical eye to your cupboards. Phthalates may be more likely to leach out of plastic when it’s heated, so avoid cooking or microwaving in plastic.

Vinyl toys: Phthalates are what make vinyl (PVC) toys soft, so don’t give them to children. Opt instead for wooden and other phthalate-free toys, especially during that age when they put everything in their mouths!

Paint: Paints and other hobby products may contain phthalates as solvents, so be sure to use them in a well-ventilated space.

Fragrance: Diethyl phthalate (DEP) is often used as part of the “fragrance” in some products. Since DEP won’t be listed separately, you’re better off choosing personal care products, detergents, and cleansers that don’t have the word “fragrance” on the ingredients list. Like our Simply product line or Wild Child product line. All essential oils, all the time!

Vinyl: Vinyl shows up in a lot of different products; lawn furniture, garden hoses, building materials, and items of clothing (like some raincoats) are often sources. Aside from carefully choosing materials when you’re making purchases, there is one easy change you can make: switch to a non-vinyl shower curtain. That “new shower curtain” smell (you know the one) is a result of chemical off-gassing, and it means your shower curtain is a source of phthalates in your home.

Air Fresheners: New research from the NRDC demonstrates that, just like fragrances in personal care products, most air fresheners contain phthalates. That even goes for the ones labeled “fragrance free.” NRDC suggests that you “open your windows and use fans to circulate air and keep it fresh.” I suspect that NRDC doesn’t have loads of kids and pets running around stashing half eaten food under the coffee table and peeing on their couches like us Soapchix do (why do you mock us, potty training?!). Open windows don’t even begin to cover it. Luckily, all this soapmaking really perks up the general scent, so we’re lucky like that. But for non soapmakers out there, here’s a great article about ‘green(er)’ room fresheners.

Thinking about of all the potential dangers in consumer products, not just phthalates but lead, mercury, and others, it is a bit depressing and overwhelming. But if we really look at it from a consumer standpoint, we have the power to make changes. If we don’t buy this junk, they can’t continue to make it. Believe me, Tiff and I have learned the lesson of supply and demand (Anyone remember Tomato Leaf soap? Anyone? People didn’t buy it, and now we don’t sell it. Simple economics. Well, not really simple. Tiff did almost fail Econ 101 in college, but that’s another blog).

I think that the best part of trying to be a concious consumer is that I am actually consuming less. And I am trying to teach my kids about being conscious consumers, too.

Responses

  1. Great info…thanks for passing that on. It’s not easy being green.

  2. Link exchange is nothing else except it is simply placing the other
    person’s web site link on your page at suitable place and other person will also do similar in support of you.

  3. Good day I am so grateful I found your site, I really found you by
    mistake, while I was browsing on Bing for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a incredible
    post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  4. Excellent site. A lot of helpful info here. I’m sending it to several pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you on your effort!

  5. alexdombroff@alexanderdombroff.com

  6. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on a number of websites for about a year and am anxious about switching
    to another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.

    net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  7. ” Pizza was called (and is still called) tomato pie and pizza pie in certain parts of the States. Cook the chicken first in a little olive oil – cut the chicken into little cubes. It didn’t help that every pizza recipe I saw online would mention the dreaded “bread machine.

  8. Thanks for the recommendations on credit repair on your web-site.
    Some tips i would offer as advice to people is always to give up the particular mentality they
    can buy at this moment and fork out later. Like a society
    most of us tend to do that for many issues. This includes holidays, furniture, and items we would like.
    However, you have to separate your own wants out of the needs.
    When you are working to improve your credit score you really have to make
    some trade-offs. For example you possibly can shop
    online to save money or you can click on second hand suppliers instead
    of high priced department stores intended for clothing.

  9. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  10. I believe everything wrote made a great deal of
    sense. But, consider this, what if you composed a catchier title?
    I am not suggesting your content isn’t good, but what if you added a title that makes people desire more? I mean Ways to Avoid Phthalates | Serendipity Soap Dish is a little plain. You ought to look at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create news
    headlines to grab viewers to open the links.
    You might add a video or a picture or two to get people excited about what you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it would bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

  11. Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers
    and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a outstanding job!

  12. Hi friends

    I think that you will agree with me that there is a lot of jewelry lovers
    worldwide. I am a giant jewelry lover,
    too.

    I was looking for some splendid and original necklace for
    myself for pretty long time. I wanted to get something
    truly unique.

    I was searching through a lot of jewelry stores on the internet for over a week, and I was lucky enough to find

    the company which is selling a admirable glass necklaces.
    Wow, I realized that I could get a splendid necklace which
    will give me truly special look I was dreaming about.

    So I ordered this necklace from the on-line store which is owned by WEXONMART,
    Inc.

    I placed the order, and I received the package from WEXONMART within two days.
    These guys are pretty fast, for sure.

    I was stunned when I opened a package. The necklace was so
    appealing. These necklaces have been designed
    by the famous and very talented jewelry designer. This designer has a
    lot of extraordinary clients like country music
    stars, girlfriends of politicians, etc.

    If you are looking for such splendid necklace for yourself
    than you can consider necklaces from WEXONMART, too.

    They are selling a lot of luxury items like magnificent crystal vases, amazing gifts for your
    loved ones, etc.

    I hope that you will find my post helpful.

    Best regards

    LeAnn GARRETSON
    Sausalito, CA.

  13. whoah this blog is wonderful i really like reading your posts.
    Keep up the good work! You already know, lots of
    people are hunting around for this info, you can
    aid them greatly.

  14. “Ways to Avoid Phthalates | Serendipity Soap Dish”
    was indeed a marvelous blog, can not help but wait to
    look over more of ur blogs. Time to squander some time on the
    internet lmao. Thanks ,Roxanna

  15. Thanks in support of sharing such a nice opinion, article is good, thats why i have read it fully

  16. I usually do not leave a response, but I looked
    through a few remarks on Ways to Avoid Phthalates | Serendipity Soap Dish.

    I actually do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Could it be only me or does it seem like some of the responses appear as if they are
    coming from brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are posting
    on additional places, I would like to follow
    everything new you have to post. Would you make a list of every one
    of all your public sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  17. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I
    have found It positively useful and it has aided me out loads.

    I hope to give a contribution & help different users like its aided me.
    Good job.

  18. I am genuinely thankful to the owner of this web page who has shared this great
    paragraph at here.

  19. I know this site presents quality based content and extra data, is there any other web site which offers
    these kinds of things in quality?


Leave a Reply

Categories

