Posted by: soapchix | March 26, 2009

You Know You are a Soap Chick When…



Soapmaking, originally uploaded by SoapChickAsh.

……you get a voice mail message from your mother. In it, she tells you in a very soft, sweet Southern accent that something just awwwwful alllllllmost haaaaapened todaaaaay. Well, hearing that gets one’s attention! The rest of the message was that my dear sweet father went to the grocery store (the Piggly Wiggly, of course) to buy some soap—–the detergent-filled not-made-by-his-daughter-kind! My mother wanted to know in her voice mail why I hadn’t sent them any soap in a while and just how-in-the-world could I expect them to use store-bought soap!? Well, of course, I don’t! I’ve just been a bit busy, that’s all. (And I feel like a teenager again being chastised for leaving wet towels on the floor).

When I called my mom back, she let me know that true harm never came to Dad. She told him to back away from the overly-processed soap and she found a bar of Rosemary Mint in the linen closet. Honestly, I don’t think he knows they have a linen closet. Or that soap could be hiding there….Anyway, crisis averted!

Now, Mom I just want you to know that several bars of lovingly-crafted soap is on its way. Go have a glass of sweet tea and relax and know that your support–and Dads—is truly appreciated!

Responses

  1. That is the cutest story…and I am LOVING your yellow top in the pictures.

  2. Thanks, Jeanne. And thanks for the compliment on my shirt! It is from J.Crew (a serious addiction of mine….along with Anthropologie, chocolate, and well, the list goes on…)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

